Unsecured Visa FutureCard

Main Classical Music Symposium
Classical Music Literature
Related Classical Music Sites
Classical Midi Music File Index

E-Mail Mr. Maestro

Classical Music Symposium

Unsecured Visa FutureCard Guaranteed

Antonin Dvorak
Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)
The classical music composer, Antonin Dvorak, is described in detail here; Dvorak's life and music, in classical midi music form, is here for you. Midi music of Dvorak, and Dvorak's life story...for you.

Antonin DvorakThe later 19th century brought an increasing consciousness of national identity to various ethnic groups in Europe and elsewhere in the world. Dvorák, born in a Bohemian village, where his father was an inn-keeper and butcher, followed Smetana as the leading exponent of Czech musical nationalism, firmly within the classical traditions of Central Europe. His early musical training was followed by employment for some years as a violist, for a time under Smetana, and then, with the positive encouragement of Brahms, by a life primarily devoted to composition. Dvorák won recognition abroad and rather more grudging acceptance in Vienna. Between 1892 and 1895 Dvorak spent some time in the United States of America as director of the new National Conservatory, a period that brought compositions that combine American and Bohemian influence. At home again he was much honoured, resisting invitations from Brahms to move to Vienna in favour of a simple life in his own country. He died in 1904, shortly after the first performances of his last opera, Armida.

Dvorák wrote nine symphonies, of which the best known must be the Symphony No. 9, From the New World, written in 1893 and first performed in New York in the same year. This New World Symphony derived some inspiration from a Czech translation of Longfellow's poem Hiawatha. Works for solo instrument and orchestra by Dvorák include an important Cello Concerto, a Violin Concerto and a slightly less well known Piano Concerto. The Romance for solo violin and orchestra, and Silent Woods for cello and orchestra, make interesting and attractive additions to solo repertoire for both instruments.

Other orchestral works of Dvorak's include two sets of Slavonic Dances, arrangements of works originally designed for piano duet, and three Slavonic Rhapsodies. Overtures include My Home, In Nature's Realm, Othello, Hussite and Carnival. Antonin Dvorak To this one may add the Scherzo capriccioso of 1883, a Polonaise, written four years before, and the splendid Serenade for Strings of 1875. The Symphonic Variations meet the challenge of an apparently intractable theme and the ten Legends were orchestrated by Dvorak from his original piano duet version. To this may be added the symphonic poems The Noonday Witch, The Golden Spinning-Wheel and The Wild Dove, works that seem to explore new ground, with their narrative content. Dvorak was truly one of the greatest composers who ever lived.

Dvorak's Music

Quartet No.10 in Eb Op.51Quartet No.10 in Eb Op.51, Allegro ma non troppo

String Quartet No.11 in C,Op.61String Quartet No.11 in C, Op.61, Allegro

Quartet No.14 in Ab,Op.105Quartet No.14 in Ab, Op.105, Molto Vivace

Sonata for Violin and Piano in GSonata for Violin and Piano in G, 1st Mov.

Slavonic Dance No.5 in A, Op.46Slavonic Dance No.5 in A, Op.46

Four Romantic PiecesFour Romantic Pieces

New World Symphony, No.9 in E-, Op. 45New World Symphony, No.9 in E-, Op.45, Adagio

American Suite, Op.98American Suite, Op.98

[Top of Page]


Meet Your Mate Dating Service

Copyright © 1998 by Mr. Maestro, All Rights Reserved.